Adulthood

Here comes the last month of me being in my 25. And that hits me up a lot because most of the time I’m proud of what I’ve achieved but the next second it keeps me wondering if I’m fast enough and if I’m hitting the expectation of what the outside world has given. Keep telling myself to give me some space and time to rethink what I have to do and what I want to do but it seems like all of these are only exclusive to those who actually have time for themselves.

However, I started the self-care routine/ healthy habits recently despite that I’m still very engaged at work, but trying a little step at the time by:

  1. Make sure every morning I have to jump into the shower to refresh myself and be ready for the day to start off.
  2. Never skip your breakfast. Even if there are a thousand things to attend to, at least you have a bowl of cereal.
  3. Never skip your morning and night beauty routine, no matter how tedious and how tired you are. It’s the little time to make sure you have your moisturiser and sunscreen on; your face is completely cleaned up and your face is hydrated before going to bed being exposed to the air from your air conditioner.
  4. Be sure to apply hair conditioner to make sure there’s no split end and maybe lesser work compared to visiting the salon for a hair treatment (which is also not a case as we are still under lockdown)
  5. Even if there is a lot of things that you need to work on during the weekend, at least spend one day to rest or do something that you want to and you weren’t able to do during weekdays.
  6. Reorganise your stuff and make sure they are always in a place that you’d be able to find it in a hurry.

Adulthood is hard, but I’m enjoying it as far as I have come to, and it’s just something that makes me feel like I’m in control of my life. I’ve been in a situation before where I forcefully making myself to be matured while I wasn’t completely ready for it and I prioritise my finances for rent, for daily expenses but I neglected the most important part – myself. I learnt along the way and realised that putting yourself in the first place is one thing that could get you further, to be able to chase down your dream, your future and everything else.

It was just the choices you’ve made in life and there’s no right or wrong one. You will have to pick up along the way, and knowing what’s important to you. Find the one that works out for you – I used to skip dinner and etc., cutting down all sugar and carbs and yes, the body fat percentage went down to 11% but I wasn’t happy, I was constantly looking to reduce more and I was depressed most of the time. By now, I eat healthily, and I still take sugary stuff (occasionally), but I feel happier and able to do more work. With all the craziness happening at work (working in an agency leaves you no space at all to complain) but I’m able to wind myself down with a glass of red wine, or a real Netflix and chill session leaving your phone aside without having to reply any messages that come in after 10pm.

I guess I’m pretty ready for the next chapter of my life, and with the insecurities that holding me back still – keeping this routine up should do me better and I can’t wait for my next level of achievement.

Till next time,
Ash x

Leave a comment